Positional Language

This week I had to prepare a lesson for maths on positional language. My prac school has an excellent resource for Maths called the Mathematical Activity Guidelines ((MAGS) p18 of report).  It is very informative and extremely helpful in understanding the expectations and sequencing of lessons.

My task this week was to run and plan a lesson to be repeated with each group of 6 students.  I created an egg carton game in which the students had to follow directions such as “place a green egg below the pink egg” and place a blue egg two spaces to the right.  Following this we used our bodies to move around a grid and think about our own position in relation to others, which the kids grasped very quickly.  Though I didn’t use any ICT, the kids have really seemed to understand the concepts so far and have some fun while learning.

Leave a comment