I have a serious problem.

I’ll try to keep this short…

With 3 and 2/3 semesters of my Bachelor of Education left, I’m not going to lie – I am worried.

My problem with this degree is the lack of preparation I actually have for the real world – for the actual classroom.  I don’t have enough fingers on my two hands to count the amount of teachers I have spoken to that told me either “My first year of teaching was a nightmare” or ‘I use practically nothing I learned at Uni” – which leads me to think WHAT IS THE POINT?

This article highlights one issue that I personally am not worried about due to my life experience up until this point regarding behaviour management. A friend of a friend is about to wrap up her first term of year 1 and she said “It’s so often that I just don’t know what to do.. What activities are good for learning ….? This kid said … how do I react? I’m just winging it most of the time”. Now she may not be the most organised of people but it certainly is a worry that she feels unprepared still, and furthermore are the students learning anything?

I strongly believe that (perhaps due to my learning style, (take the quiz yourself)) an educational degree should be 60% prac and 40% theory.  I wonder if I’m the only one that thinks this way..

4 thoughts on “I have a serious problem.

Leave a Reply

